Polyvalent Conversion


Wüstenrot Stiftung




77 pages


On 15 and 16 September 2014, IBA Heidelberg joined up with the Wüstenrot Foundation to organize the workshop ZukunftsWerkstattWohnbauen. The event was accompanied by a public symposium, which gave the participating students and the citizens of Heidelberg the opportunity to discuss the current issues in urban development.

Living and Working in the Knowledge City of Heidelberg

has various conversion sites available for further urban development – including the Patton Barracks in the immediate vicinity of Bahnstadt. The students were supposed to design an urban, future-oriented district for this location. In twelve days of intense work, ZukunftsWerkstattWohnbauen analyzed the area and developed solutions to activate urban potentials. Emphasis was placed on the idea of a lively and socially balanced district with a strong identity. In addition to the established cityscape planning strategies for inner-city development such as building redevelopment and redensification, the initiative focused on advanced approaches.

The research group of Prof. Dirk Bayer
 from the Department of Architecture at the Technical University of Kaiserslautern suggested to developed the conversion area step-by-step in order to treat the different interests of the potential user groups equally. The group of Prof. Antje Freiesleben from the Department of »Gebäudelehre und Entwerfen« (Building Theory and Design) also took the interests in the planning area as a starting point for their considerations and designed an architectural utopia that creates a new place for Heidelberg through form and scale. Conversely, the research group of Prof. Meinrad Morger from the Department of Building Theory at KIT Karlsruhe focused on the context, i.e. the situation of the Patton Barracks in the urban fabric. The concept linked the conversion area with the adjacent districts and designed a new quarter with a focus on public space and a balanced mix of uses.


Dirk Bayer, Johannes Böttger, Michael Braum, Antje Freiesleben, Hans-Jürgen Heiß, Ernst Hubeli, Anne Kaestle, Ulf Matthiesen, Meinrad Morger, Peter Nageler, Klaus-D. Neumann, Hans-Ulrich Schulz, Herwig Spiegl, Marco Zünd